Select Page

Founded in 1973, the Australian Historical Association (AHA) is one of Australia’s leading organisations for historians – academic, professional and other – working in all fields of history. As part of their promotion of history, the AHA hosts an impressive set of prizes and awards for works of history. Many of these fantastic prizes are biennial and will be awarded at the 2016 AHA conference in Ballarat.



This biennial $10,000 prize is kindly donated by Professor Emerita Susan Magarey, and is administered and judged by a panel established by the Australian Historical Association and the Association for the Study of Australian Literature. It is awarded to the female person who has published the work judged to be the best biographical writing on an Australian subject in 2014 or 2015.


The Allan Martin Award is a research fellowship to assist early career historians further their research in Australian history. The biennial award of up to $4,000 will assist with the expenses of a research trip undertaken in Australia or overseas in support of a project in Australian history. Applicants are required to show how the research is essential to the completion of their project and how the findings will be published or otherwise made available to the public. It must be spent within two years.


This Award is sponsored by members and associates of the Australian Historical Association, the University of Tasmania, and the Port Arthur Historic Site Management Authority. Consisting of a $1,500 prize and citation, it recognises outstanding original research with a bearing on Australian convict history and heritage including in its international context, published in 2014 or 2015.


The W.K. Hancock Prize was instituted in 1987 by the Australian Historical Association to honour the contribution to the study and writing of history in Australia by Sir Keith Hancock. Offering a $2,000 prize and citation, it is intended to give recognition and encouragement to an Australian scholar who has published a first scholarly book in any field of history in 2014 or 2015.


The Serle Award is a biennial prize established through the generosity of Mrs Jessie Serle to honour the contribution to Australian history of her former husband, Dr Geoffrey Serle, for the best postgraduate thesis in Australian History awarded during the previous two years. The $2,500 biennial award may be used as a publication subsidy or to subsidise other costs associated with transforming the thesis into a book, such as the cost of carrying out extra research, funding permissions, copyright fees or illustrations: these examples are not exhaustive. 


The Jill Roe Prize is an annual prize established by the AHA to honour the career of Professor Emerita Jill Roe, an eminent Australian historian who has made a very significant contribution to the writing, teaching and public communication of history in Australia and abroad.  The Jill Roe Prize will be awarded annually for the best unpublished article-length work (5,000-8,000 words) of historical research in any area of historical enquiry, produced by a postgraduate student enrolled for a History degree at an Australian university.


The AHA also have bursary and scholarship opportunities available. To find out more about these generous awards and details on how to enter, go to the AHA website.