Select Page

The State Library of NSW has announced the winners for the 2017 Merewether and David Scott Mitchell Memorial Fellowships. One of the fellows is History Council of NSW Vice-President, Dr Stephen Gapps, for his project, ‘The Sydney Wars – A military history of the Sydney Region 1788 to 1816’.The 2017 David Scott Mitchell Memorial Fellow is, Associate Professor Robert Crawford for his project, ‘Probing the Consumer’s Mind: The Ashby Research Service and the Post-war Australian Market’. Congratulations to you both!

Applications this year were very competitive with projects ranging from class, Human Rights, military history, food studies, gender and sexuality. The high standard of applications made the decision making a difficult process for the Judging Panel, which comprised of Dr Lisa Murray, City of Sydney Historian; Dr Rachel Franks, Coordinator, Education & Scholarships; Dr Nancy Cushing, Senior Lecturer School of Humanities & Social Science and Richard Neville, Mitchell Librarian and Director, Education & Scholarship.

The Library’s prestigious and competitive fellowships are designed to support the research, writing and teaching of Australian history and culture.

The Australian Religious History Fellowship ($20,000), CH Currey Memorial Fellowship ($20,000) and the Nancy Keesing Fellowship will open on 22 August and will close, 19 September.