Select Page

Entries for the National Trust Heritage Awards 2019 are closing on the 31st of March 2019.

The National Trust Heritage Awards are the signature event of the Australian Heritage Festival and are now in their 25th year of recognising heritage projects.

The awards are highly regarded in the industry and are an opportunity to have work recognised by peers and the public. The 2019 awards will be presented on 10 May 2019 during a luncheon ceremony at Doltone House, Pyrmont. The keynote speaker for 2019 will be Philip Thalis. Philip has more than 25 years local and international experience across a broad spectrum of architecture and urban projects and has won more than 40 awards, commendations and competitions for architecture, urban design, planning, public domain and heritage projects.

Every year entrants for the awards include councils, community groups, corporations and individuals. The entries include everything from education and research to the restoration of objects, re-vitalisation, architectural re-invigoration, documentaries, regeneration of the environment and hard-working advocacy campaigners.

Entries will be judged based on the following criteria:

  • The project aims to protect and promote our unique heritage
  • The project embodies the principles and objectives of the Burra charter
  • The entrant submits a clear and detailed entry to allow proper consideration by the judges
  • The project has been completed within the calendar year between March 2018 and March 2019

Nominations will also be accepted for the following categories. Please access the nomination forms by clicking on the titles below.

  • Lifetime Achievement: For an individual who has given special service to heritage conservation.
  • Heritage Skills: For a volunteer, teacher, professional individual or apprentice who has demonstrated the application of craft skills that have been key in repairing or adapting a heritage site.

There is no charge to nominate however nominations will only be accepted if the official forms are used.

Key Dates

Entries Open:                    7 January 2019
Entries Close:                    31 March 2019
Shortlist Announced:        12 April 2019
Awards Ceremony:            10 May 2019