Select Page

The State Library of NSW have announced the contemporary works by leading and emerging Australian writers which have been shortlisted for the 2018 NSW Premier’s Literary Awards.

Thirty judges considered almost 600 entries across 10 prize categories, with the winners to be announced as part of the Sydney Writers’ Festival on Monday 30 April 2018. A total of $295,000 in prize money will be awarded.

NSW Premier, The Hon Gladys Berejiklian MP, said:

The NSW Premier’s Literary Awards have a proud history of recognising and rewarding outstanding Australian writing since 1979. The quality and diversity of this year’s shortlisted works make for compelling reading, and I encourage everyone to enjoy and learn from the works of these talented writers.

2018 Senior Judge, Suzanne Leal, commented that whether they’re:

reconsidering the history of the powerful or bringing to life the voices of the disenfranchised, the forgotten and the unknown, the nominees have produced stunning works that are lyrical and poetic, bold and defiant, witty and empathetic.

Voting has also opened for the People’s Choice Award. The winner will be chosen by the public from the shortlist for the 2018 Christina Stead Prize for Fiction and announced at the awards presentation on 30 April.

Image courtesy the State Library of NSW